the toy

The plush pink pig toy
was standing on the edge of the top
of the soda vending machine–
exactly in the middle.

I was looking at this toy
and the toy was looking at me
with its dull plastic eyes.

it was dusty, and had a smell of an allergy.

while I was waiting for the machine
to dispense a desired bottle,
I was thinking about the meaning of this act–
“What moved the person to do that?”,

I asked my coworker ,
“Don’t you think, Jacque, that this pig is symbolizing an idol
of our uncontrolled urges to drink something
proven to be bad for our health, yet we’re still doing it?”

“Indeed”, he replied, “it is an idol, we even put our measly coins
into the whole.”

(and he slid the quarter into the machine)

I opened the bottle and took a big gulp.

I felt like the whole pantheon of the Greek deities
were looking at me in anger and rattling their tongues
in disapproval.

Leave a Reply

