still

I like to look at my shadow in the mornings
when it still tall and slim.

When the air is crisp and clear,
and still empty from the sounds of the honking cars
and sirens of the emergency vehicles.

When the NYPD School Crossing Guards ladies are still smiling
while I’m crossing the street on a Green Light;
as the stoned construction workers are still mellow,
and drinking their coffee during a smoke break.

When the school kids are laughing and chattering
in the line to enter their school.

I like to look at my shadow in the mornings
when it still tall and slim.

When I still find your hair tangled in my beard
and the sensation of your warm skin is still lingering
on my lips.

2 thoughts on “still

Leave a Reply

