this smell

this smell,
soothing smell of a cucumber lotion.

same lotion that my mother used to put
on my skin, when I got sunburns,
after me and my dad were coming back
from the fishing trip.

(I was young and the sea was big.)

this smell,
I met later when I was exploring in kisses
my first sweetheart’s skin.

this smell had my dead friend’s sister hands
whom I pulled out burnt in pieces from the hit tank.

(the sky was too close not to sense the stench.)

afterward I forgot this smell.

until this morning
when a young girl sat next to me
in the bus.

she was pregnant and happy,
with a fragrant scent of a cucumber lotion.

2 thoughts on “this smell

Leave a Reply

