an unexpected twist on the sidewalk

I saw her caring three pizza boxes
for the office party, perhaps

she was dragging her feet
like my eight years old daughter

that noise of the her plastic soles on the sidewalk
was annoyingly scratching my brains, as I walked

that guy who was walking next to that girl was carrying some boxes too
probably to the same party

she was excited, and talking aloud to that guy
he was indifferent and was barely looking at her
through his dragon-eyes glasses

as I was passing them by, I thought to my self
the life for these kids is like a pizza

have it with cheese, pepperoni or fresh mozzarella
it is crunchy and it is hot
but as soon as it gets cold, it stales
and can be consumed only with the yesterday’s worm beer
in the morning
for breakfast

Leave a Reply

